Quotes Wall: Emily Dickinson


 

I’m Nobody! Who are you?
Are you – Nobody – Too?
Then there’s a pair of us!
Don’t tell! they’d advertise – you know!

How dreary – to be – Somebody!
How public – like a Frog –
To tell one’s name – the livelong June –
To an admiring Bog!

 

He who weigheth – While the Rest –
Expend their furthest pound –
Of this Man – I am wary –
I fear that He is Grand

 

Assent – and you are sane –
Demur – you’re straightway dangerous –
And handled with a Chain

 

That I did always love
I bring thee Proof
That till I loved
I never lived – Enough –

That I shall love alway –
I argue thee
That love is life –
And life hath Immortality

 

Surrender – is a sort unknown 

 

‘Tis not that Dying hurts us so –
‘This Living – hurts us more

 

The Bravest – grope a little –
And sometimes hit a Tree
Directly in the Forehead –
But as they learn to see

Either the Darkness alters –
Or something in the sight
Adjusts itself to Midnight –
And Life steps almost straight.

 

I can wade Grief –
Whole Pools of it –
I’m used to that –
But the least push of Joy
Breaks up my feet –
And I tip – drunken

 

Wild Nights – Wild Nights!
Were I with thee
Wild Nights should be
Our luxury!

 

Artist – who drew me so –
Must tell!

 

– quotes from poems by Emily Dickinson

 


 

Leave a Reply

