Quotes Wall: Bukowski Part 2


 

the gods are done with me and them and this,
the last useless word looking for a place to die.

 

I climbed off a park bench to engage the giants of
literature in battle. 
I lived with women madder than the gods
themselves. 

I lived on a candy bar a day. 
I was engaging the giants of literature. 
the ladies descended like locusts. 
I threw people off my front porch. 
I was engaging the giants. 
the giants were not aware of this. 
only I was aware. 
I climed off the park bench to engage the giants of
literature. 

I didn’t think that they were all that good. 

tell me, do you?

 

this darkness shakes me like a dirty rag!
human waste on parade throughout the
centuries!
why am I the last one alive?
there’s no answer to
that. 

 

for want of something to do
we keep slaying our small dragons
as the big one waits. 

 

it has to be madness, 
it was always
madness,
this endless search for the
ultimate
truth that
still can’t be
stopped.

 

about
our argument tonight
whatever it was
about
and
no matter
how unhappy
it made us
feel 
remember that
there is a
cat
somewhere
adjusting to the
space of itself
with a delightful
grace 
in other words
magic persists
without us
no matter what
we may try to do
to spoil it.

 

the last war will be one man sitting in a chair laughing at it all. 

 

– Quotes from “Bone Palace Ballet: new poems” by Charles Bukowski

 


Leave a Reply

