Quotes Wall: Leaves of grass by Walt Whitman Part 2


 

To court destruction with taunts, with invitations!
To ascend, to leap to the heavens of the love indicated to
me!
To rise thither with my inebriate soul!
To be lost if it must be so!
To feed the remainder of life with one hour of fulness
and freedom!
With one brief hour of madness and joy.

 

Darest thou now O soul,
Walk out with me toward the unknown region,
Where neither ground is for the feet nor any path to
follow?
[…]
All waits undream’d of in that region, that inaccessible
land.

 

I think there is no unreturn’d love, the pay is
certain one way or another,
(I loved a certain person ardently and my love was not return’d,
Yet out of that I have written these songs.)

 

Now we have met, we have look’d, we are safe,
Return in peace to the ocean my love,
I too am a part of that ocean my love, we are not so much
separated

 

O shades of night – O moody, tearful night!

 

The Night follows close with millions of suns, and sleep
and restoring darkness.

 

The question, O me! so sad, recurring – What good amid
these, O me, O life?
answer
That you are here – that life exists and identity,
That the powerful play goes on, and you may contribute
a verse.

 

O you fables spurning the known, eluding the hold of
the known, mounting to heaven!
You lofty and dazzling towers, pinnacled, red as roses,
burnish’d with gold!
Towers of fables immortal fashion’d from mortal
dreams!
You too I welcome and fully the same as the rest!
You too with joy I sing.

 

Proud music of the storm

 

I am the Poem of Earth, said the voice of the rain

 

– quotes from “Leaves of grass” by Walt Whitman

 


Leave a Reply

