How I became familiar with “The 100”

 I learned about the show thanks to some clexa fan-video where I saw this new couple and I had to check it out. I started by only watching Lexa’s scenes and I loved the chemistry between the two actresses (Alycia Debnam-Carey and Eliza Taylor), Alycia’s performance was wonderful, I loved her character immediately. I was going to keep watching only the couple’s scenes, as I do with shows when I’m only interested in one or two characters, but then this friend of mine who was, at the time, kinda obsessed with the series pushed and begged me to watch the whole thing, so eventually I gave in.

 I didn’t like season 1 too much, the start was taken right off Lord of the Flies, a lot of ideas weren’t original at all, but bad and less than bad copies of other shows or movies. There were a lot of cliches too, but when the grounders made their appearance I hoped it could get better. It didn’t, but it wasn’t all that bad, I would never put The 100 in those lists of best TV shows, I can’t understand the people who do that, but as an average show it is not too bad, the customs are nice, the special effects get better after season 1, the characters are very well written and the cast is a good one. The real flaw about this show is the story. It’s a pity the story is actually what people normally watch a show for – though, is that still true?

 But I should admit, I liked the grounders society, their clans, their story, if we don’t mind the Commander’s story, it’s still pretty interesting. I hoped season 3 would have focused on them and their clans. It is not an original idea, of course, but it could have still been used in an original way. A lot of shows have clans and that kind of stuff, but none of them is really that good, with the characters it has, The 100 could have succeeded. But of course they had to throw in there a storyline that, if I’m allowed, is boring, overrated and still not original.

 The thing that makes me angry the most though are the messages the show sends. A lot of newspapers have called The 100 a progressive and open-minded show, but that is not true. I hate the way strong women are portrayed: in order to prove that they are strong they have to give up grief, they can’t even process their pain because they have to suck it up and go back fighting, while the boys can be whining idiots and make horrible decisions because they’re hurt. When Clarke makes one bad decision, they immediately blame her, when Bellamy makes plural huge bad decisions and kills hundreds of innocent, puts his people at risk destroying all Clarke has fought for, he’s forgiven because he was grieving.

 This only sends the message that boys don’t really need to do anything to be strong, they can do the worst and be forgiven because they’ve been through a lot, while girls have to prove over and over again that they’re strong and to do so they have to never show hurt and never grieve.

 In season 3 the show also starts to become unnecessarily violent, as if challenging Game of Thrones, but resulting quite pathetic. They kill the few people who always fought for peace, they show the rape of a man and handle it in such an ignorant way, joking about it on the Social Medias. And apparently a woman can only win a war if all she has to do is pull a lever.

 That’s all kinds of wrong. We have a rape that doesn’t matter, ’cause he was a man and men don’t get raped, a lesbian who, how surprising!, dies right after finally sleeping with the woman she loves, a man who dies because he refuses violence (men are strong because they’re violent after all, isn’t it?), an idiotic boy who’s forgiven everything because he was hurting, a girl who can only win pulling levers (because women couldn’t win wars otherwise)…and a bunch of disgusting choices by the developer Jason Rothenberg. 

 If at first I considered it a nice average show with very good characters that had some potential, I now see the all thing as pathetic, they keep ruining every good thing they still had.

 Though I do want to say again that I have nothing against the actors. The cast is the only thing that keeps getting better on the show. If it weren’t for the cast, I would have never started the show in the first place. 

Leave a Reply

